My Cultural Celebration. SLJ Task.

“Viva pit Senyor!” is what you will hear on the streets of Cebu on January 15th 2023 because it is the celebration of Sinulog! Hi, I am Patrick and welcome to my blog. Today we talk about cultural celebrations. Every country has one, even Vatican City!

 

Lets start off with the island country Niue. Once every two years, the Niue Arts & Culture Festival is a week-long event celebrating all things Niuean! Typically happening around Easter, the festival features a range of cultural experiences, from cultural performances, art exhibitions, yam-blessing ceremonies, crafting sessions and much much more! How about we move south where I currently live, Aotearoa (New Zealand). Waitangi Day. Waitangi Day, the national day of New Zealand, marks the anniversary of the initial signing – on 6 February 1840 – of the Treaty of Waitangi, which is regarded as the founding document of the nation. The first Waitangi Day was not celebrated until 1934, and it was made a national public holiday in 1974.  Now lets move along to my cultural celebrations, the Philippines. In the Philippines we celebrate the Sinulog festival. The Sinulog-Santo Niño Festival is an annual cultural and religious festival held on the third Sunday of January in Cebu City, and on the fourth Sunday of January in Carmen, Cebu, and is the centre of the Santo Niño Catholic celebrations in the Philippines.

 

For our create task, we had to create a digital poster about our own cultural celebrations. We had to include what activities we do, What we wear during these events, even some key words. Here is my poster, I hope you enjoy it. What do you celebrate in your culture?

7 thoughts on “My Cultural Celebration. SLJ Task.

  1. Hi Patrick,

    It’s Emma here again from the Summer Learning Journey. Your introduction to this task is very informative and well written, well done! I have found your post very interesting and I have learnt lots of new information. The Sinulog Festival sounds like a very joyous and lively event. You inspired me to do some extra research of my own about this festival and I can see there a Sinulog dance as well, was that part of your participation in the Little Mister event? The food also sounds amazing, do you have a favourite dish? Thank you for sharing an awesome post Patrick.

    1. Hello Emma! Patrick here.

      Thank you for your comment, I am glad you have learnt something new today. Yes, during the breaks of Little Mister Philippines we would have people in their crafted shirts do a dance on stage.

      The food is amazing Emma, my personal favourite would have to be Lechon. Lechon is basically a fully roasted pig.

      What cultural festivals do you celebrate? I celebrate Matariki and Sinulog.
      Cheerio!
      Patrick

      1. Hi Patrick,

        That sounds like a really fun event, will you participating in it again?

        Wow, I just looked up Lechon, it looks like something out of a banquet fit for a king!

        I personally don’t have any of my own cultural festivals that I celebrate but I when I lived in England I used to go to a summer festival each year in that was a celebration of Jamaican culture. They have lots of food stalls and live music. My favourite part was the ice cold mango juice they sell! Have you tried any Jamaican food before?

        How do you and your family celebrate Matariki?

        Cheers, Emma

        1. Kia Ora Emma.

          The Jamaican ice cold mango juice looks really yum! No, I have never tried Jamaican food before, but it looks really delicious!

          How my family celebrates Matariki is star gazing trying to find the stars, we have not been successful yet.

          What is the most interesting culture in your opinion?

          Cheerio!
          Patrick

          1. Morning Patrick,

            It’s definitely one cuisine for you to put on your list to try one day then!

            What a lovely way to mark Matariki together, I’m sure one day you will. They are best seen when the sky is very clear, is that right?

            That’s a very tough question as there are so many that I have never had the opportunity to learn about yet. I do love Mexican culture though. I love all the flowers and colour and the ‘Dia De Los Muertos’ celebration. Which translates to the Day of the Dead. It’s a huge carnival in Mexico where they parade through the streets, often with colourful skeleton face paint! It’s a way to celebrate the dead, but it is a very happy time. Have you heard of this day before?

            Do you have a culture you are particularly interested in or would like to learn more about?

            Emma 🙂

          2. Kia Ora Emma,

            Yes, I have heard of Dia De Los Mertos before. I learnt it from my Grandfather as we were watching Coco. Here is a funny fact, before my father met my mother, my grandfather studied about the Philippines since my mum was from there. When she arrived my grandpa told her everything he knew. The funny thing is that he knew more than my mother.

            Did you know that there are 8 major dialects in the Philippines?

            Cheerio!
            Patrick

  2. Hi Patrick,

    Coco is such a good film, and a great way to learn a bit about the Mexican culture.
    That is funny, I find that often we don’t learn enough about the places we are actually from or grew up in!

    I did not know about the 8 major dialects, is there are particular one that you know about or maybe speak at home?

    Emma – SLJ

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *