Recreating Portraits. SLJ Task

Kia Ora and welcome back to my jounrey, of the Summer Learning Journey 2022-23. This week, we’ve been studying several internationally renowned artworks. We had to either recreate them with photos using some props, a digital version or just simply drawing it on paper. I traced the painting Girl with a pearl earring digitally. I chose this painting because it was the most important painting that painter Johannes Vermeer, it is also one of his most famous paintings.

 

Here is my trace, I hope you like it. What is your favourite artwork? Mine is The Last Supper by Leonardo da Vinci. Here is the drawing link if you want a better read of the information.

One thought on “Recreating Portraits. SLJ Task

  1. Kia ora Patrick,

    You’ve done a great job with this task. Ka pai! You’ve done well with using Google Draw to recreate this portrait. Was this a tricky task to get the colours to match the original artwork?

    Thanks for sharing information about the type of painting this is. I had to look up ‘tronie’ and it’s really interesting to learn that that is how artists manipulated their artwork however they wanted, compared to a portrait.

    I don’t have a favourite piece of artwork like a painting, but I would have to say that the ceiling at the Sistine Chapel in Vatican City is incredible. I walked through there once and it was stunning.

    Ngā mihi,
    Simon (SLJ)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *