The Polynesian Board. SLJ Task.

Kia Ora everybody and welcome back to my blog. Today I did the task of designing our own Surfboard. The design I went for in this project was a cultural one. I chose to do a Polynesian cultured themed Surfboard. I drew this on paper and drew something that represented each culture. I mainly did traditional patterns. The cultures I did was Hawaiian, Japanese, Chilean, Kiwi, Tongan, Samoan, Ni-Vanuatu and Tuvaluan. I call it the Board of Polynesia! (And Asia!)

Here is my Surfboard! I hope you like it! What theme did you go with for your Surfboard?

 

5 thoughts on “The Polynesian Board. SLJ Task.

  1. Kia ora Patrick,
    It’s Mrs Clifford from the Summer Learning Journey Commenting Team.
    What an awesome surf board – I love the faces you have drawn and that you have labelled the different parts that you have chosen to use for each culture.

    Your post made me wonder if you chose those cultures because that’s what makes up you? Or whether you just chose ones that were similar?

    I haven’t made a surfboard but if I did I think I would pick something abstract that had the colours that remind me of Hawaii because it’s the only place I have surfed! Have you ever been surfing before?

    Happy Blogging!
    – Mrs Clifford

    1. Kia Ora Mrs Clifford!

      I chose these cultures because they are Polynesian or countries in Oceania. Chile is there because of Rapa Nui and Japan are there because the sea is a main thing in their culture. No, I have never surfed before, but I might give it a try one day!

      Did you know that surfing is one of the oldest sports in the world?

      Goodbye!
      Patrick

      1. Very interesting Patrick!
        Rapa Nui? I wouldn’t have ever thought of that!
        I see the connection between the cultures now thank you. It’s hard to imagine cultures that don’t connect to the sea in someway. Can you think of a culture that wouldn’t be connected to the sea?

        I did not know that about Surfing. I guess it makes sense if you think about how people travelled from place to place. I do wonder though what defines a sport?

        -Mrs Clifford

        1. Hello Kelsey! It is me again.

          I think I might know a culture that does not happen to connect to the sea. South Sudan, because it is a new country being made in 2013. Also since it is a landlocked country.

          I think I also might know what defines a sport. Something that involves physical movement and contact.

          What is your favourite sport?

          Goodbye!
          Patrick.

          1. Hi there Patrick,

            Oh clever! Yes I would imagine that they wouldn’t be so connected to the sea because they are landlocked – but I also wonder, because they are a new country whether their ancestry would be linked to water?!

            Interesting that you say sport needs to have contact. Would you say that ice skating or skateboarding therefore aren’t classed as a sport?

            My favourite sport is… motor sport! Or Dance – but some people say that dance isn’t a sport. Although, they were talking about bringing breakdancing into the olympics.
            What is your favourite spot?

            – Mrs Clifford

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *